Posted in Guides for Brides (and Grooms), marriage license

A Guide for Brides (and Grooms): How to obtain a NJ Marriage License

Each State’s marriage license laws are different, so it is important to check with the State in which you will be married to determine how to apply for a marriage license.

Here is the information about Applying for a Marriage License in New Jersey

Summary:

If either of you live in New Jersey and will be getting married in New Jersey, go to the Local Registrar in the municipality where you live. You can use the license in any county in New Jersey.

If neither of you live in New Jersey but will be getting married there, you will need to go to the Registrar in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will be performed. The license will only be valid in that municipality.

You will need to have a witness with you who is over 18 years of age.  In addition, there is a set of required documents, and a fee, to obtain the license.

You must apply for the license at least 72 hours before your wedding date. The license is good for 6 months from the issue date.

ourweddingcake

 

Posted in Guides for Brides (and Grooms), marriage license

What is a Pennsylvania Self-Uniting marriage license?

adult beverage black coffee breakfast
Photo by Burst on Pexels.com

In the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, it is legal for couples to unite themselves in marriage, in front of witnesses, without an officiant needing to sign the marriage license.  Blasphemous?  Exactly the opposite.  Self-uniting marriages have been an accepted means of getting married for Quakers in Pennsylvania since 1682. Quakers believe that marriage should be between the couple and God, without needing an intermediary.   So, what is the difference between a self-uniting marriage license and a regular marriage license?

When you go to the marriage bureau to get a license, tell them that you want a Self-Uniting license.  These licenses sometimes cost a little more than the type that requires an officiant.

A Self-Uniting License requires both members of the couple plus two witnesses to sign the license on the day of your wedding.

Some couples self-unite by creating and conducting their own ceremonies.  Other couples ask a friend or relative to create and conduct the ceremony as the couple self-unites.  (A caution: Not all friends or family members are good at conducting ceremonies.)

If you do want to self-unite, consider asking Celebrant Robin to create your ceremony or guide you through the writing. Then, you can use that ceremony as you unite each other wherever and whenever you choose.

Posted in Guides for Brides (and Grooms), marriage license

A guide for Brides (and Grooms): How to Obtain a Pennsylvania Marriage License

2019-07-22 11.53.19-1

Here are the most commonly asked questions, and the answers, regarding obtaining a marriage license in Pennsylvania.

  1. Where do we go to obtain a PA marriage license? 

You can obtain your license from the Marriage License Bureau (part of the Register of Wills) in any Pennsylvania County, regardless of where in PA your wedding will be held.

  1. When do we need to get our marriage license? 

A PA marriage license is valid for 60 days from the issue date, and must be acquired at least 3 days prior to the wedding date.

  1. Do we both need to be present to get the license? What do we need to bring with us to obtain the license? 
  • You do both need to be present to get the license.
  • Bring a photo ID and your social security numbers
  • If either applicant has had a name change or a previous marriage, bring documentation of these circumstances.
  • The county’s fee
  1. Where are the marriage bureaus near me? When are they open? Do any of them have evening hours?

Each County has its own application, fees, and hours of operation, though they are all similar.  Go to the county that is most convenient for you.

Philadelphia Register of Wills.  Open Monday through Friday from 8:00 am until 4:00 pm Wednesday hours are from 8:30 am until 7:30 pm.

Montgomery County Register of Wills Open Monday through Friday from 8:30am until 4:15 pm.

Delaware County Register of Wills Open Monday through Friday from 8:30am – 4:30pm.

Bucks County Register of Wills Open Monday through Friday 8:30am until 4:30 pm. 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month open until 7:30pm. Closed 12:00 – 1:00pm each day.

Chester County Register of Wills Open Monday through Friday from 8:30am – 4:00pm.